Put Excuses Behind You and Job Search Out in Front

I am hearing lots and lots from clients these days about not being able to get a job. Hmmm.  Yes, we are in a tough recession and many jobs have been lost.  Nonetheless, for many of you, you are making self destructive (and potentially family destructing) choices on not getting a job.  Sorry to be so blunt, but I call them excuses.  The excuses typically sound like this:

Excuse 1:  “Yes, I could get a job in my industry but I want to get a job in another field so I will just wait until I find one.”

You’re Never Stuck Feedback:  That’s terrific…BUT…how are you going to support yourself and your family?  Are you expecting someone else to support you?  That sounds a lot like entitlement, which breeds dependency.  Is that what you want for yourself?  Is that the example you want to set for your children?  Wouldn’t it be more empowering to instead choose to have a job in your current field but work toward your new dream job?

Excuse 2:  “There are no jobs.”

You’re Never Stuck Feedback:  I call “B.S.” on that one. Yes, there are fewer jobs out there but there are jobs. Now, you may not want a particular job or think it is below you, but again, there are jobs.  I have a lawyer client that I coach.  She decided movement is better than sitting idle, and to make ends meet she started cleaning houses. Yes, it’s below her skill set but she is doing what she has to do for her, and her family.  (BTW – I love house cleaners – they are a gift to many).  I have another client who just lost his business.  He sucked it up and went for a job with one of his competitors.  He has a family to support.  No pity party there.  And don’t forget you can support yourself via several income streams–it doesn’t have to come from one place.  We’ll expand more about that in a future blog.

Excuse 3:  “I apply online and nothing happens.”

You’re Never Stuck Feedback:  The number 1 way people get hired today is still through other people – good old fashioned networking, and to be quite honest letting others/the industry know you are looking for a job.  People hire people.  There are many ways to accomplish this:  Through your church, an extra-curricular group, hobby, or people you meet as you are out in public – tell everyone!  You also need to join Linkedin, Facebook and Twitter to expand your network.

Excuse 4: “I’m sick. I’m depressed. I give up.”

You’re Never Stuck Feedback:  Please don’t give up. Ever.  That’s choosing victim thinking. If you are depressed or sick, get help ASAP. That is the first step in taking your power back and healing. There are tons of FREE resources to get help such as 12 step programs, church support groups and your friend network.

Excuse 5:  “I don’t know how to find a job.”

You’re Never Stuck Feedback:  Unlike 10 years ago, there are tons and tons of FREE resources on everything from writing a resume to cover letters online.  Check out my website at http://www.youreneverstuck.com for the free chapters on interviewing and cover letters.  Google it!  Search for websites, articles and blogs of people talking and writing about similar topics.  Join a local support group or class to expand your network and your skills.  Know that you are not alone.  There are a lot of people willing to share what they’ve learned from the process.  I’m willing to share too, for you can find some of my favorite resources on the Lessons From a Headhunter Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Lessons-From-A-Headhunterwith-Heart/300344826289.

I haven’t gone heartless on you my dear readers.  But a good coach calls a spade a spade and holds a mirror to your face and helps you move forward.  People are getting jobs.  They may have to work a lot harder to get a job or take one they never thought they would need to but this is a reality in today’s economy.  So ditch the excuses and choose empowerment and action instead.  I believe in you!  You can do it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Career/Job Related Blogs

Leave a Reply

